is it true?
Martyrdom (1) Buy + Mogg Maniac Buy + Sorrow's Path Buy
ok, so you use Sorrow's Path Buys ability and then play Martyrdom (2) Buy redirecting all the damage to the Mogg Maniac Buy probably killing your opponent. or would this even work?
(Submitted by kiljo)   Rating:(13)   
15 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

     
Ratings Posted By Date Posted
Usefulness
Originality
Overall
RadysOrislan   6/29/2004 3:12:41 AM
Yes, it looks as though it does work... wonderfully, in fact. Finally, a use for Sorrow's Path Buy... very original. Good show.

Last Modified: 6/29/2004 3:14:13 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Bringer of the Dawns   9/12/2004 4:50:42 PM
Excelent work!

Last Modified: 9/12/2004 4:51:21 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Nender Tipple   10/5/2004 4:39:32 AM
I bought a Sorrow's Path Buy recently, for a laugh, and now, It has a slim chance of being played, for the first time ever. Well done.

Last Modified: 10/5/2004 4:40:31 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Cogmaster   10/5/2004 11:14:34 PM
Brillant! The only problem i can think of is you'd either have to have quite a few creatures (either 4 or 9, depending on how many Martyrdoms you play)for it to deal lethal damage.

Last Modified: 10/5/2004 11:18:54 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Rexregum   1/12/2005 6:02:46 PM
The number of Martyrdom (2) Buys makes no difference, but as Sorrow's Path Buy is not legendary, I see no reason not to go for multiple copies of that instead, or to include creatures that let you untap lands.

Cave-In Buy or Steam Blast Buy would cause more damage than the path, as they hurt all creatures rather than just yours. They're also less fiddly to use.

Last Modified: 1/12/2005 6:30:54 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
unagi   2/14/2005 11:41:23 PM
for the damage i'd use something like wildfire evern though you both sac. 4 lands afterwards but all creatures on the field take 4 damage

Last Modified: 2/14/2005 11:42:25 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Rexregum   2/15/2005 7:34:42 AM
Wildfire Buy is good, I agree, but it has a rather high mana cost compared to the other cards in the combo, slowing it down.

Earthquake Buy would do quite a bit more damage for the same amount of mana, but Sickening Dreams Buy is my favourite so far...

Last Modified: 2/15/2005 7:44:35 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
blunthans   3/18/2005 12:46:08 AM
wow. truly original. want my Sorrow's Path Buy?

Last Modified: 3/18/2005 12:52:42 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Viashivan Dragon   4/2/2005 8:10:48 PM
::Bows reverently::

Last Modified: 4/2/2005 8:11:17 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Forsiz uv Eevil   4/10/2005 7:59:00 AM
Right in front of us the whole time...OK... breakdown: 2 damage to maniac, 2 damage to you, + at least 2 for any other creatures you control (at least one other attacker, apparently), then BLAH for martyrdom, Which is all that damage, PLUS the amount dealt by final blocker to the mogg maniac, PLUS the mogg's damage dealt (sans any beefup) 7 minimum, but potentially HUGE amounts, WOW. The idea of my opponent having Big Creatures makes this appealing.

Last Modified: 4/10/2005 8:10:10 AM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Sene   5/20/2005 6:44:36 PM
Whoa, a use for Sorrow's Path Buy!? Not only that, it is good as well! Awesome, man! Another difficult task for you: find a use for Phyrexian Offering!

Last Modified: 5/20/2005 6:47:31 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
xoutkastx3   8/13/2007 2:12:43 PM
Wow. All these positive ratings and this combo is terribly ineffective. You redirect all the damage that would be dealt to you/your creatures 1 at a time. The damage goes on the stack. The first damage resolves, dealing 1 to the fanatic and 1 to your opponent. Game rules then check to see if it was lethal and then the mogg fanatic dies. While it saves your creatues, you only deal 1 damage to your opponent.

Last Modified: 8/13/2007 2:15:00 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
totalyredness20   5/12/2008 3:56:11 PM
actually combat damage is dealt then you have time to play instants on the stack meaning he could play this , this is a great combo , good job buddy

Last Modified: 5/12/2008 3:58:32 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
S_Minnard   5/17/2011 3:56:29 PM
I'm sorry to say this doesn't work, since the ability is resolved 1 at a time as said above. The hypothetical 20 damage redirected is done so for only 1 damage 20 times, and as soon as the first damage is resolved the creature dies. After that the 19 left has no legal target and fizzles.

Last Modified: 5/17/2011 3:59:43 PM     


Usefulness
Originality
Overall
Art-Scavenger   5/17/2012 6:22:10 AM
It doesn't necessarily always work because your opponent has to block with two creatures to activate the land. As far as whether or not it works at all, I think the damage redirect is stacked before damage is dealt; so when the damage is dealt, it basically sees some "redirect counters" on you each of your creatures, and it all converges simultaneously on the goblin.

As for deck ideas, martyrdom would work just as well or on Stuffy Doll Buy. Sure it costs more, but you don't lose the creature, and thus martyrdom can redirect more damage.

Last Modified: 5/17/2012 6:29:57 AM     



The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.
Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search