Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > Izzet Guildmage + Goblin Electromancer

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted
dyami6687

Joined: 4/20/2009

Quote: [none]

 

Izzet Guildmage + Goblin Electromancer 10/2/2012 12:53:36 PM

Ok, so with I was checking out some of the Return to Ravnica cards and came across Goblin Electromancer. I was wonder how the Electromancer and Guidemage would work together.

The main question I have, is does Goblin Electromancer reduce the converted mana cost, resulting in more fuel for Izzet Guidemage?

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

GoblinBasar
Guru

Joined: 2/26/2007

Quote: [none]

 

RE: Izzet Guildmage + Goblin Electromancer 10/2/2012 1:15:13 PM

Quoting dyami6687:Ok, so with I was checking out some of the Return to Ravnica cards and came across Goblin Electromancer. I was wonder how the Electromancer and Guidemage would work together.

The main question I have, is does Goblin Electromancer reduce the converted mana cost, resulting in more fuel for Izzet Guidemage?

Please e-Tag your cards in the future. That makes understanding the question and giving an answer much easier.

No.
Effects like that of Goblin Electromancer Buy affect the total cost of spells, which is derived from the mana cost, any additional costs and effects that increse or reduce what you have to pay.

The mana cost of a card is always the mana symbols printed in its upper right hand corner, and the converted mana cost is simply the amount of mana in the mana cost.
The mana cost of a card never changes, with two exceptions:
1: if the mana cost contains an {X}, X will figure with the chosen value into the mana cost (and thus the converted mana cost) while the spell is on the stack; everywhere else but on the stack, X always counts as 0
2: copy effects will copy the mana cost of the original, so the mana cost printed on the piece of cardboard is "overwritten"
_____________________________________

DCI Lvl 2 Judge
e-Tags: [card]Golgari Guildmage[/card] = Golgari Guildmage Buy

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

dyami6687

Joined: 4/20/2009

Quote: [none]

 

Random Comment 10/2/2012 1:26:40 PM

Fair enouph. Thank you for the clairification.

 

  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

3 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!
Login
LogOff

User Search
Clans
Advertising
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Casual/Fun
Vintage
Standard
Block
Modern
Champ
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search