Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > Sphinx's tutelage

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted

Joined: 5/15/2007

Quote: if you build a better mouse trap, dont tell al gore or he will claim it


Sphinx's tutelage 9/28/2019 2:59:40 AM

Ok, I need a rules reference please. A friend and I are debating what happens when you are forced to draw multiple cards at once. If a player has Sphinx's Tutelage Buy on the field and is forced to draw 10 cards with Blue Sun's Zenith Buy,would tutelage trigger once or for each card drawn


  Reply to this post     Quote this post        


Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]


RE: Sphinx's tutelage 9/28/2019 3:25:29 AM

Sphinx's Tutelage Buy will trigger for each card draw, resulting in ten triggers.

When a player in instructed to draw X cards, that player performs X individual draws (121.2). The triggered ability of Sphinx's Tutelage Buy is looking for its controller to "draw a card." Since you will "draw a card" ten times, it will trigger ten times as a result.

Ignore the rest of this post if you're not interested in a somewhat noodly corner-case:

In most situations, "Draw X cards," is functionally identical to "Draw a card," repeated X times. However, there are some specific cases where there is a distinction. I feel like there are more cases (apparently my Gatherer-fu is rusty), but in particular, an ability like the replacement effect on Alms Collector would be applied to "Draw two cards," but not to an ability that tells you to "Draw a card, then draw another card [...]." In this case, there is a difference between drawing multiple cards and drawing a card multiple times.
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules


  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

2 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!

User Search
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search