Essential Magic > Forums Homepage > Rules Questions > Sacrifice equipped creature, does it have the equiped abilities?

! You are not logged in, so you will not be able to post to this thread or reply to any posts. We suggest that you Log In before proceeding.
  Log In      Forum Search      Post a Reply
Posted By Post Title Date Posted

Joined: 7/15/2004

Quote: [none]


Question Sacrifice equipped creature, does it have the equiped abilities? 4/16/2020 10:36:08 AM


I wonder, if I sacrifice my Fanatical Firebrand Buy and it is equiped with a Basilisk Collar Buy, does the damage count as deathtouch damage and do I get the life? Or are these abilities lost the moment I sacrifice the creature?

Thanks for your thoughts on that.




  Reply to this post     Quote this post        


Joined: 5/21/2004

Quote: [none]


RE: Sacrifice equipped creature, does it have the equiped abilities? 4/17/2020 4:12:17 AM

The damage will be dealt as if its source had both deathtouch and lifelink.

Generally, if the effect of an ability has its source do something, like with Fanatical Firebrand Buy (the ability causes the creature to deal damage to another), and the source is no longer where it was when the ability resolves, then the game looks back in time to use "last known information" about the source. That is, what did the source look like the last time it existed? In this case, the last time Fanatical Firebrand Buy existed (as a creature on the battlefield), it had deathtouch and lifelink, so when the damage is dealt, it will be dealt with the effects of deathtouch and lifelink.

Rule references: 113.7a, 702.2e, 702.15c
Comprehensive Rules --- Gatherer --- Tournament Rules


  Reply to this post     Quote this post        

2 matching items were found.    Currently Viewing

The comments and opinions expressed here are those of Essential Magic users and do not necessarily reflect the opinion of Essential Magic itself. Essential Magic cannot be held liable for physical or emotional damage or losses caused by any of the comments expressed in these open forums.

Join Free!

User Search
Contact Us
My Homepage
My Profile
My Combos
My Decks
My Trades
My Collection
My Mail
My Clans
Adv. Card Search
Trade Cards
All Cardsets
Buy Cards!

All Formats
B & R List
Deck Search
Post Deck
Recent Combos
Combo Search

Browse Articles
Submit Articles
All Forums
Latest Threads
Rules Questions
Deck Help
Gen. Magic Disc.
Off-Topic (GDF)
Forum Search